Monday, April 03, 2006

Live: Okkervil River

Combining folk-rock inspirations and alternative rock sways, Okkervil River creates a particular visionary sound, strongly founded on dark and profound lyrics and on chaotic visions of patterned sound compounds. Okkervil River is a mutual project of Will Robison Sheff (vocals, guitar), and Seth Warren (guitar), born when both were still in high school, in Meriden, NH. After several years and multiple life experiences, at the end of the '90s the duo eventually decided to re-assemble the band, by then with an extended lineup, after they both relocated to Austin, TX. Following the addition of Zachary Thomas (vocals, bass), Jonathan Meiburg (vocals, banjo), and drummer Mark Pedini, Okkervil River reappeared. In 1998, the group offered their first and self-released disc, the EP Bedroom, followed a year later by Stars Too Small to Use, the band's debut album. During the succeeding years, the band regularly played live on numerous occasions, including an appearance at the South by Southwest festival in 2000. Don't Fall in Love With Everyone You See, the group's second album, showed up in 2002, re-affirming the band's cult all over the Texas music scene. 2003 saw the release of their 3rd album Down The River Of Golden Dreams. In 2005, the band released Black Sheep Boy and it's addition Black Sheep Boy Appendix.

Okkervil River - Live At Shuba's 2005

The Magnetic Fields - i !!!
Stereolab - Fab Four Suture (2006)


Anonymous charlie said...

thanks for the magnetic fields album

8:34 AM  
Anonymous L said...

Thanks for the Okkervil River Live... I hope it's as good as on the album! Cheers.

12:36 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home