Thursday, May 11, 2006


Formed by two high-school friends, Tim Regan and Brad Postlethwaite, Snowglobe's music traverses the psychedelic folk pathways first cleared by the likes of Gram Parsons and the Byrds and later explored by the likes of Neutral Milk Hotel and their Elephant 6 brethren.

After growing up in Memphis, Regan and Postlethwaite migrated to Athens, GA, where the East Coast contingent of the Elephant 6 is based. The pair soon assembled a band, which included bassist Brandon Robertson, drummer Jeff Hulett, and percussionist Brian Winterrowd. Winterrowd coined the band's name but soon parted ways with the unit. Soon, the group moved back to Memphis, where they set to work recording their debut album, Our Land Brains.

Though the band self-produced the effort, the resulting disc was a rich mix of instruments, including pianos, strings, chimes, guitars, and organs. The band recruited musicians from the music department at the nearby University of Memphis. The disc was released on Bardot Records, an imprint of Makeshift Music, in May 2002. Makeshift also issued bandmembers' various solo projects, including two discs from Postlethwaite (released under the Youth Electronics moniker), and an acoustic record from Postlethwaite and Hulett (In Association With the Administration). 3 Years later, the band released the sophomore album, Doing The Distance.

Following Brad Postlethwaite's departure from touring life and Tim Regan's relocation to Knoxville TN, Snowglobe found itself in yet another transitional state. Each member of the band is a prolific composer, thus they naturally began focusing on their own projects. While Tim Regan and Jeff Hulett formed separate bands (Raygun and Jeffrey James and the Haul respectively), the remaining members (Brandon Robertson, Nahshon Benford, and Brad Postlethwaite) began working together on a series of records.

Oxytocin marks the first in this series. It began as an attempt to catalog old, unreleased Snowglobe songs (written during the Athens, GA-era), but eventually turned into a new record. The members of Snowglobe (and others) played a large role in its creation, thus it is unfair to refer to it as a "solo" project. More accurately, it is a collaborative effort directed by one Snowglobe songwriter (Brad Postlethwaite) as opposed to several. The next project in the series will be titled "the Black Squirrels." This will be directed by Brandon Robertson (Snowglobe bassist). Following that will be a record by Nahshon Benford (Snowglobe brass and flautist).

Snowglobe - Rainbow
Snowglobe - Dry
Snowglobe - At Times A Nightmare
Snowglobe - Changes (from Doing The Distance)
Snowglobe - Regime (from Doing The Distance)

Tally Hall - Marvin's Marvelous Mechanical Museum !!!
The Eyeliners - No Apologies !!!
Le Tigre - Le Tigre !!!
Gossip - Standing In The Way Of Control !!!
Sleater-Kinney - Woods !!!
Wolfmother - Wolfmother !!!
Tom Waits - Nighthawks At The Diner !!!
KT Tunstall - Eye To The Telescope !!!
Blur - Observer [EP] + The Best Of
Old 97's - Drag It Up
Ocean Colour Scene - Moseley Shoals
Rasputina - A Radical Recital [Live]


Anonymous charlie said...

you do know that that punk indie link dump redirects to some raunchy ass porn site right?

10:11 PM  
Blogger Ziggy said...

didn't know. thanks for info. i removed it.

12:42 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home