Friday, November 17, 2006

Under Byen

Denmark's Under Byen (pronounced Oh'nah-Boon) features Henriette Sennenvaldt (vocals), Stine Sørensen (drums), Sara Saxild (bass), Nils Grøndahl (violin), Morten Larsen (drums), Anders Stochholm (kalimba), Morten Svenstrup (cello), and Thorbjørn Krogshede (piano). The experimental electronic collective came together in 1995 and spent the next few years shaping a hypnotic sound that's similar to Sigur Rós and Björk. It wasn't long until Under Byen took their homeland by storm, and in 1998 they became the first act signed to the Danish indie imprint have a cigar. Their stunning debut album, Kyst, was warmly received and earned several Danish music awards, including best Danish band. Their 2002 sophomore release, Det Er Mig Der Holder Træerne Sammen, made its way overseas; both Rolling Stone's David Fricke and the BBC's John Peel praised Under Byen for their unique, mesmerizing compositions. Stateside music fans were reintroduced to Under Byen upon the release of their third album, Samme Stof Som Stof. European tour dates coincided with the Paper Bag album release in fall 2006.

Under Byen - Af Samme Stof Som Stof
Under Byen - Den Her Sang Handler Om At Få Det Bedste Ud Af Det
Under Byen - Plantage
Under Byen - Hjertebarn

His Name Is Alive - Detrola !!!
Jarvis - Jarvis
Modest Mouse - Albums
Transplants - Haunted Cities
+ Mindless Self Indulgence, NoFX, TSOL, Sublime, Vandals, Rancid, Offspring, etc.
KT Tunstall - Eye To The Telescope
Jacks Mannequin - Everything In Transit
Duncan Sheik - Humming
Death Cab For Cutie - Plans + Transatlanticism
Oasis - Familiar To Millions
Thom Yorke - Eraser
Underworld - Back To Mine
Empyrium - Albums
Joseph McManners - In Dreams
The Klaxons - Sampler
Under Byen - Sampler
Eminem - White America Mixtape


Blogger poprocks said...

Thanks for the Klaxons link

3:53 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home