Tuesday, December 12, 2006

Twin Cities Electropunk Series

The Twin Cities Electropunk compilation series are organized by Todd Millenacker from the band called Avenpitch. The main idea behind this compilation series is to collect some of the most interesting, unique, and hardest-working electronic acts in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis-St. Paul), group them together on one CD, print up 1,000 copies and give them away for free in order to give people a taste of the Twin Cities' electronic music underground. This way of DIY (Do-It-Yourself) self-promotion was always appreciated inside the indie community and it makes a very good example of an efficient way of spreading a buzz among the indie music lovers.

Electropunk isn't a single genre, rather, it's rooted in two genres: electro and punk. Electro is an umbrella term for various electronic styles influenced by 80s new wave and punk, with synth keyboards, drum machines and sequencers as its key components. Punk is the DIY punk work ethic of creating and promoting your own music without a major record label backing. DIY came about in the late 70s and early 80s when punk bands promoted their own shows and established small independent record labels. While the musicians had relatively low (by record industry standard) sales, they remained independent and uncompromising.

Twin Cities Electropunk compilations started in 2004 when the first compilation was released. The second followed in 2005 and the third in December 2006. Among the bands featured on the compilations are Apraxia, Avenpitch, Circa A.M., Endless Blue, Envy Is Blind, Fadladder, Future Wives, Gabber Nullification Project, Heliosphere, Hondo, Lolly Pop (former TELEPHONE!), Mach FoX, MSRP, Tim Rally Gold, Thosqaunta, OBCT, Uber Cool Kung Fu, Unicorn Basement and others. The compilations contain a plenty of very interesting electropunk sound and are recommended for your listening.

Twin Cities Electropunk Compilation Volume 1
Twin Cities Electropunk Compilation Volume 2
Twin Cities Electropunk Compilation Volume 3

Amon Tobin - Supermodified !!!
Dälek - Absence + From Filthy Tongue Of Gods And Griots !!!
White Noise - An Electric Storm !!!
El-P - Collecting The Kid
+ Front Line Assembly, Download, Jean Michel Jarre, Meat Beat Manifesto, U.N.K.L.E, Front 242, etc.
Boris - Akuma No Uta !!!
Isis - Panopticon !!!
Jesu - Jesu !!!
+ Zombie, Dillinger Escape Plan, House Of Low Culture, Ink & Dagger, Today Is The Day, etc.
Ojos De Brujo - Techari (2006)
+ Groundation, Claude Nougaro, Silje Nergaard, etc.
The Flaming Lips - At War With Mystics
Bright Eyes - A Christmas Album
Beach Boys - The Ultimate Christmas Collection
VA - Have Yourself A Merry Indie Christmas
Gorillaz - Demon Days
Dire Straits - The Best Of
Usher - Discography


Anonymous Thor said...


5:51 AM  
Anonymous Viagra online without prescription said...

Excellent Electropunk Series that's what make me feel so alive, actually +when I heard that music I feel stronger and with an incredible vitality.

10:37 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home