Wednesday, October 17, 2007

New album release: Figurines

Figurines is an indie rock band from Denmark, formed in the mid-1990s. The band released their first EP, The Detour, in 2001 and their first full-length album, Shake a Mountain, in 2003. The band began to receive national attention in Denmark around the time of the full-length release, and began touring Germany in 2004. Their second full-length, Skeleton, was released in 2005 on Danish label Morningside Records and German label Pop-U-Loud, and on US label The Control Group in 2006.

The band began a North American tour after being nominated for a Canadian Music Week Indie award and has since performed at the Indies ceremony, SXSW, KEXP, and in cities in the US, Canada, and Europe. The band has also received positive press from Pitchfork Media, The New York Times, and Spin, among others. Figurines's sound has been most often compared to that of Pavement, Modest Mouse, and Built to Spill.

The band has completed work on their third record When the Deer Wore Blue (scheduled for release July 23rd, 2007 in Denmark and September 11, 2007 in the US) with Chicago-based co-producer/engineer Jeremy Lemos, who has worked with Smog, Jim O'Rourke, Loose Fur, and many other Windy City acts in the past. The new material is said to be more psychedelic than previous efforts, but remains faithful to the melodic-pop sounds of Skeleton and Shake a Mountain. "Hey, Girl" is the first single from the new record. Highly Recommended!

Figurines - Hey, Girl (from When The Dear Wore Blue)
Figurines - The Air We Breath (from When The Dear Wore Blue)
Figurines - The Wonder (from Skeleton)
Figurines - Silver Ponds (from Skeleton)
Figurines - The Danger (from Shake A Mountain)
Figurines @ MySpace

Figurines - Let's Head Out

Check Comments for Bonus!


Blogger Ziggy said...

Sigur Ros - Saeglopur [EP] !!!
Simian Mobile Disco - Attack Decay Sustain Release
Justice - Cross
Klaxons - Myths Of The Near Future
Gil Mantera's Party Dream - Bloodsongs
+ The Knife, Faint, Prodigy, Beck, Talking Heads,
Jamiroquai, Air, My Robot Friend, Bjork, etc.

Rinocerose - Rinocerose !!!
High Contrast - High Society !!!
Junior Jack - Trust It
Fischerspooner - Odyssey
+ Kanye West, System Of A Down, Gorillaz, etc.

Frou Frou - Details
Royksopp - The Understanding
Colorstar - Via La Musica


Jedi Mind Tricks - Servants In Heaven, Kings In Hell

11:57 AM  
Blogger Axi said...

Great releases!

4:24 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home