Thursday, February 12, 2009

Eleni Mandell

Eleni Mandell is a supremely talented and critically acclaimed songwriter with a singular gift for writing wry, literate songs that synthesize jazz, country, folk, blues, rock and pop. Artificial Fire builds on her 2007 breakthrough, Miracle of Five, adding a more direct, full-band sound to Mandell’s sharp-edged tales of romance, lust and love.

Miracle Of Five ended up on a slew of critics “Best of 2007” lists, including Paste, Harp, ABC News and the Los Angeles Times. LA CityBeat described Mandell’s music as “a kind of pop-out-of-time, often dark yet somehow comforting, and as unforgettable as a warm winter day.” In an “A-” review of ‘Miracle Of Five,’ Entertainment Weekly said Mandell’s lyrics explore “the elusive promise of romance with wry wit and moony wistfulness.” The New Yorker says "Mandell was weaned on artists like Tom Waits and X, and her dark and sexy songs have been compared to those of everyone from Chan Marshall to Patsy Cline. She has a sometimes smoky, sometimes wistful delivery, and, more often than not, her songs take on love from some new perspective."

Based in Los Angeles, Mandell is a leading light in the city’s Silver Lake music scene, and is part of The Living Sisters, a local “supergroup” also featuring Becky Stark (Lavender Diamond) and Inara George (The Bird and the Bee). All the songs on Artificial Fire were written by Mandell, and arranged, recorded and produced with her longtime band (Drake on guitar, Ryan Feves on bass and Kevin Fitzgerald on drums.), allowing the group’s cohesiveness and musical acumen to shape the tracks while Mandell’s articulate lyrics hold centerstage. Guests include DJ Bonebrake (X, The Knitters), fellow Living Sister Inara George, and Silver Lake music scene regulars Jason Borger, Danny T. Levin and Charlie Wadhams. The album was produced by Mandell, Drake, Feves, Fitzgerald and Dave Trumfio. Recommended!

Eleni Mandell - The Artificial Fire
Eleni Mandell - The Artificial Fire (video strem)
Eleni Mandell @ MySpace


SONG OF THE DAY: The Thermals - Now We Can See
(from Now We Can See, out on April 7th on Kill Rock Stars)

Check Comments for Bonus!


Blogger Ziggy said...

White Lies - To Lose My Life (2009) !!!
The Killers - Day & Age

Minotaur Shock - Maritime !!!


The Starting Line, Shellac, Fischerspooner, Royksopp, etc.



Nirvana, Guns N Roses

Fort Minor - We Major

Incubus, Jimmy Eat World, King Andora, The White Stripes,
Counting Crows, Tenacious D, BBC Live Lounge, etc.

The Postal Service, Pulp, The Strokes, etc.

2:27 PM  
Blogger Scala said...

Fleet Foxes live at the Crossing Borders Festival (2008)
Fleet Foxes live at the Crossing Borders Festival (Nationale Toneel Gebouw, Stage 1) in Den Haag (The Hague) Holland, performing live in concert on Friday 21st November 2008

Set List:

01. Intro / Tuning (see comments below)
02. Sun Giant
03. Sun lt Rises
04. Drops in the River
05. English House
06. White Winter Hymnal
07. Ragged Wood
08. Your Protector
09. Crayon Angels (Judee Sill Cover song - Robin solo)
10. Oliver James (Robin solo)
11. He Doesn't Know Why
12. Mykonos
13. Tiger Mountain Peasant Song (Robin with two unknown girls)
14. Blue Ridge Mountains
15. Outro

Sound check

16. 'Warm Up'
17. Sun Giant
18. English House




4:51 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hi Ziggy:

Do you have the new Lily Allen album?? I've heard is great.

Regards from Mexico

8:19 PM  
Anonymous Oliver said...

aww shes cool

11:47 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Does anyone know where can I find The Dutchess And The Duke album?


2:10 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

here's a link for the lily allen album


1:52 AM  
Blogger Axi said...

First of all, thanks Ziggy
and here is She's The Dutchess He's The Duke album:

Password: ushasoft

9:41 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks, Ziggy!!!

5:43 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thank You very much!!!

9:28 PM  
Blogger Amanda said...

hi ziggy. any chance that you have eleni's newest album artiicial fire?

3:02 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home