Friday, March 13, 2009

Here We go Magic

Here We Go Magic's first record was recorded by Luke Temple, it is a project based on non editing linear movement. He made it quick and with a very limited palate of equipment. It has many layers and is best experienced with head phones or in a car. It is also important to note that there was no electronic looping of any kind involved in the more "song" oriented numbers on the record, it is important to say this because there is an imperfect breath that might otherwise go unnoticed. He feels it has good energy and emotion and hopes you do too. Now, the seed of this recording has sprouted a band consisting of Luke Temple (guitar, synth, vox), AJ Lambert (bass, vox), Alex Luther (keys, vox, guitars), Michael Bloch (guitars, vox), and Peter Hale (drums, sounds). The band is becoming it's own thing.

To date, Luke Temple has been unconfined by genre. His full-length debut Hold a Match for a Gasoline World presented heartfelt folk tunes and expansive pop numbers filtered through a unique outsider perspective. Last year's follow-up Snowbeast was an avant statement full of interwoven light and dark imagery recorded entirely in his Brooklyn bedroom.

Developed over a two-month period of stream-of-consciousness recording in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, Luke's self-titled debut under his new moniker Here We Go Magic is a remarkable departure from his signature singer-songwriter material. Luke recorded the album at home using analog synths, a cassette 4-track, and his trusty SM-57 mic, coloring the sound with warmth and creating textures you want to wrap yourself in. Highly Recommended!

Here We Go Magic - Tunnelvision
Here We Go Magic - Fangela
Here we Go Magic @ MySpace


SONG OF THE DAY: Phoenix - 1901
(from Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, out on May 25th)


Check Comments for Bonus!


Blogger Ziggy said...

Neko Case - Middle Cyclone (2009) !!!

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz (2009) !!!
The Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound (2008) !!!
Crystal Stilts - Crystal Stilts (2008) !!!
Dark Dark Dark - The Snow Magic (2008) !!!
Kurt Vile - Constant Hitmaker (2008) !!!
The Night Marchers - See You In Magic (2008) !!!
The Jealous Girlfriends - The Jealous Girlfriends (2008) !!!
Lost In The Trees - Time Taunts Me + All Alone In An Empty House !!!
The Black Angels - Passover (2006) !!!
By The End Of Tonight - A Tribute To Tigers [EP] (2005) !!!
Dosh - Dosh (2003) !!!
The Bomb - Torch Songs (2000) !!!
Obits - I Blame You (2009)
P.O.S. - Never Better (2009)
+ Arctic Monkeys, Bon Iver, David Byrne, Eagles Of Death Metal,
Future Of The Left, Grinderman, New Order, Tv On The Radio,
Andrew Bird, The Raveonettes, The Thermals, The Replacements,
The Rakes, Spoon, The Von Bondies, Nick Cave, The Ponys,
Street Dogs, The Bloody Hollies, The Bomb, The Gun Club,
The Greenhornes, Metallica, Television, Tranzmitors, etc.

Modest Mouse - This Is A Long Ride For Someone...
Wintersleep - Wintersleep (2003)
Muse - Absolution

John Butler Trio - Sunrise Over Sea

Air - Pocket Symphony

Miles Davis - Miles Davis Plays For Lovers

Adam Green - Albums

7:10 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

The second link is fantastic- very excited for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs! Thanks.

1:39 AM  
Blogger 10101010100 said...


3:09 AM  
Blogger Axi said...

Love the 2nd link, great stuff...


9:02 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

wintersleep?! lovely!!

2:57 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

new neko is amazing.

2:18 PM  
Anonymous Oliver said...

Great site!

10:16 AM  
Blogger kitato said...


2:37 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home