Monday, March 09, 2009

Passion Pit

Boston’s Passion Pit is the brainchild of Michael Angelakos with live band consisting of ian hultquist(synths), ayad al adhamy(synths, samplers), jeff apruzzese(bass, synths), nate donmoyer (drums). Michael is a songwriter’s songwriter drawing from a variety of influences, from the classic pop of Randy Newman to the synth work of Giorgio Moroder.

The Chunk of Change EP was originally put together as a (belated) Valentine’s Day present to Angelakos’ girlfriend which then prompted him to give it out to friends and fellow students at Emerson College. Angelakos wrote and recorded the entire record by himself and it only hints at what is to come from this extremely talented perfectionist. The production of the recording - brief, sporadic, and explosive - worked towards the development of Angelakos’ signature euphoric and blissfully melancholic sound. Frenchkiss Records will reissue the ep this fall with the addition of two bonus tracks “Better Things” and “Sleepyhead” that are already catching the online world on fire. All of this is in preparation for Passion Pit’s debut full length coming out in early 2009.

Playing as a five piece live, Passion Pit has already blown away audiences opening up for Death Cab For Cutie, Girl Talk, These New Puritans and more. Also winning the WFNX/Boston Phoenix Best Music Poll as the Best New Local Act of 2008, Passion Pit hopes to bring their soulful dance explosion to your town this summer.

Passion Pit have begun the slow climb from blog curio to possible magazine cover boys, and the next step in that evolution is a debut LP, which the band has announced will be called Manners. Manners is due out in the U.K. via Columbia on May 18, and in the U.S. via Frenchkiss on May 26. Highly Recommended!

Passion Pit - Sleepyhead
Passion Pit @ MySpace

Passion Pit - Sleepyhead


SONG OF THE DAY: Damien Jurado - Gillian Was A Horse
(from Caught In The Trees, released on Secretly Canadian, Sep. 2008)


Check Comments for Bonus!


Blogger Ziggy said...


U2 - No Line On The Horizon (2009)

The Prodigy - Invaders Must Die (2009)
Mistabishi - Drop
Lykke Li - Youth Novels

Stacey Kent - Breakfast On The Morning Tram
The Puppini Sisters - Rise And Fall Of Ruby Woo
Alela Diane - The Pirate's Gospel

Madlib - Beat Konducta Vol. 3-4

Of Montreal - Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer

4:43 PM  
Blogger Axi said...

Thanks Zigg!

7:57 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

loving the stuff!

check out, artists can spend less time promoting, and more time creating.

1:07 AM  
Anonymous Bianca said...


You should join Snazl. It's a media website that allows you to upload art once and it'll post it to all your other websites, such as Facebook, Myspace and blogs.

When you're on Snazl, you can share media everywhere online, viewing the content simultaneously. You can also chat with each other and draw (there's a freeze frame mode!) while watching the video. It's addictive...and free.

2:03 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home